Wednesday 14 June 2023

Retribution (A Koa Kane Hawaiian Mystery Book 5) by Robert McCaw

As people around him come under attack, Chief Detective Koa Kane wonders if he might be the real target

In the back alley of a bar on Hawaii Island, a young man is found stabbed to death. When Hilo Chief Detective Koa Kane begins investigating the crime, the murder weapon is recovered only a few feet away from the body. Crime scene technicians find fingerprints on the knife — they are a perfect match for Koa's younger brother, Ikaika.

As the brothers scramble to prove Ikaika's innocence, another crime sends shockwaves through the Hilo police force. A sniper tries to take out Makanui, Koa's closest colleague. As Koa tries to figure out whether these crimes are linked, the sinister force continues their killing spree, threatening Koa and his loved ones at every turn.

Could Koa be the real target? If so, who is behind this trail of retribution? With his own secret criminal past, Koa confronts an all-out offensive against those closest to him and his police force to which he has devoted his life. As the bodies pile up, Koa finds himself the ultimate target of a ruthless adversary and must risk it all to survive.

Perfect for fans of Michael Connelly and James Lee Burke

While all the novels in the Koa Kane Hawaiian Mystery Series stand on their own and can be read in any order, the publication sequence

Death of a Messenger
Off the Grid
Fire and Vengeance
Treachery Times Two
Retribution    (Summary via Goodreads)

Retribution by Robert McCaw is the fifth book in his Koa Kane Hawaiian Mystery series and the first that I have had the pleasure of reading.  It is stated that the books in this series can be read in order or can be read alone.....and that is definitely the case.  As soon as I started reading Retribution I was completely into the story, not lost at all, and was along for the rollercoaster of a ride.

In Retribution main character Chief Detective Kane has his hands full !!  It begins with Kane's brother Ikaika being arrested for murder and continues in a spiral from there.  Another detective and close friend is shot when she opens her front door to leave for work, luckily she was protected.  And when more attempts on people that Kane cares about occur, he sets out to uncover who is behind the acts. 

Unfortunately Kane is limited in what he can do, especially with his brother's case.  And the detective assigned to Ikaika's case already has him guilty and serving life behind bars without even investigating.  But Kane is determined and eventually will gain control of the case as well as the other cases involving friends and family but it seems the people behind the murder attempts are always one step ahead of Kane.

Readers will love whatever book of this series they pick up. As you ride around Hawaii with Detective Kane you will thoroughly enjoy the trip.....and you don't have to pack or anything.  Just grab a snack and beverage, sit back on your couch or in your gazebo and let McCaw be your tour guide.  You will be happy for the pleasant distraction.

No comments:

Post a Comment