Sunday, 27 December 2015

The Final Tap ( Living History Museum, #2 ) by Amanda Flower


The Final Tap (Living History Museum, #2)

March on Barton Farm can only mean one thing: maple sugar season. To combat the winter slump, resilient director Kelsey Cambridge organizes a Maple Sugar Festival, complete with school visits, pancake breakfasts, and tree tapping classes. Kelsey hires curmudgeonly maple sugar expert Dr. Conrad Beeson to teach the classes, despite misgivings over his unpleasant demeanor. It's a decision she ends up regretting when, before the first tree can be tapped for sap, Dr. Beeson turns up dead.

The maple sugar expert's death threatens to shut down not only the Maple Sugar Festival, but also Barton Farm itself. Kelsey must solve Dr. Beeson's murder to escape the increasingly sticky situation. (Summary via Goodreads)


I absolutely love this series. This is the second book in the Living History Museum series which takes place in my old stomping grounds of Ohio. I had fun learning about maple syrup and the little known fact that Ohio is the fifth largest syrup producer in the United States. And that it had an impact during the Civil War. I love history! I know this is why I can't put these books down. You have not only a great mystery and some romance but you have tons of history and suspense. This makes the perfect book.
In this book you have Kelsey mixed up in another murder at Barton Farm. It just so happens that the first Maple Sugar Festival is taking place at the same time and the lead instructor, Dr. Beeson is the victim. Kelsey is going to have a hard time with suspects because Dr. Beeson was not a very likable person. And one of her own staff is the prime suspect. She has a lot on her mind especially with Chase starting to inch his way to her heart. 
How is Kelsey going to narrow the large pool of suspects in time to save her employee? Or is everyone barking up the wrong tree and it was just a terrible accident? 
You will definitely be shocked to find the answers to these questions. I was totally wrong and loved the ending. If this is the first book you pick up in the series you will have no trouble catching up on the characters. They are very likable and down to earth. Book three can't get here quick enough. 
Thank you NetGalley and Midnight Ink for letting me read and review this ARC.

Review by Penny M.

Thursday, 24 December 2015

Murder Fir Christmas (Christmas Tree Valley Mysteries #1) by Joyce & Jim Lavene


Murder Fir Christmas (Christmas Tree Valley Mysteries #1)

Down the mountain from Sweet Pepper, Tennessee is Christmas Tree Valley, a place filled with hundreds of Christmas tree farms where generations of growers have made people’s lives brighter. Yet even here in this quiet, postcard-perfect corner of the world, darkness and murder can still stalk the night. 
Federal Wildlife Agent Bonnie Tuttle has always had a special gift with wild animals. It was one of the reasons she decided to train with the wildlife agency. She’s spent the last ten years in Alabama working, but her mother needs her home and she’s back despite all the bad parts of her life she hoped to leave behind. 
Her first day home begins with a fire on the island in Sweet Pepper Lake and the death of Harvey Shelton, the wildlife agent she’s supposed to replace. Bonnie manages to rescue dozens of animals from the fire – including a wolf pup that was shot with the same bullet that killed Harvey. 
Now she’s hot on the trail of Harvey’s killer and trying to reintegrate the wolf back into the wild even though he seems to want to stay with her. Yet old memories persist in the small community where she grew up, and the killer now seems to believe that she has what he killed Harvey for. All she has to do is figure out what that is before it’s too late.  (summary via Goodreads)


I was so caught up into Murder Fir Christmas that when I clicked my Kindle to turn the page I was shocked to see that I was on the last page.  I truly loved this book and cannot wait for the next book in this new series.  

Ridng along with Federal Wildlife Agent Bonnie Tuttle as she gets re-aquainted with her home town in the middle of a snowstorm and the murder of the agent she is replacing  is a wild ride.  Bonnie has 10 years experience on the job so she has no trouble getting to work right away.  Although there is a lot going on you are able to follow along smoothly.  It is like everything blends together and you can just read the story without having to stop and think.  You truly feel like you are right there in Sweet Pepper Lake.

What can be said of Joyce and Jim Lavene that hasn't already been said ?  They have written so many good books and series that everything good has already been said.  The talent between them is unremarkable.  The gift they give to the reading community is a gift to be treasured.  Whether the book is written by Joyce alone, Jim alone or the two combined, you know you have a great book and will enjoy the story inside.  

** This was a hard review to write as Murder Fir Christmas was dedicated to Joyce.  She passed away on October 20, 2015.   She will be missed by all but if you have read any of her books, she lives within you.  Her writing leaves an impression on you that will always be there.  Her memory will live on with her great books.  I highly recommend reading Murder Fir Christmas and feel Joyce's spirit within the pages......

Review by Missi S.

Tuesday, 15 December 2015

Fillet of Murder: A Deep Fried Mystery (Deep Fried Mystery #1) by Linda S. Reilly


Fillet of Murder: A Deep Fried Mystery

Talia Marby serves up delectable English deep fried fare in the heart of the Berkshires—but she soon discovers there’s something fishy going on…
 
Sometimes in this life, you have to fish or cut bait. After walking away from a miserable job and an even worse boyfriend, Talia Marby has no regrets. She’s returned to her hometown and is happy to help her dear friend Bea Lambert by working at Lambert’s Fish & Chips, a cornerstone of a charming shopping plaza designed to resemble an old English village.
 
But not all the shop owners are charming. Phil Turnbull has been pestering Bea to sign a petition against a new store opening up, and his constant badgering is enough to make her want to boil him in oil. When Talia and Bea stumble upon Turnbull murdered in his shop, the police suspect Bea. Now it’s up to Talia to fish around for clues and hook the real killer before her friend has to trade serving food for serving time.  (Summary via Goodreads)


Fillet of Murder should come with a warning...Warning - Do NOT attempt to consume a hot beverage while reading the ending of this novel !  I was so engrossed in the last several chapters that I left a fresh piping hot cup of coffee turn to iced coffee.  

This is not to say that the beginning or middle were not as catching because they were.  Going to work every day with Talia in the quaint little English village like shopping mall where she is helping her dear friends, Bea and Howie, in their Fish and Chips restaurant is very captivating.   You get to meet all of the other shop owners like Suzy who owns  Sage and Seaweed, Jill who owns Time for Tea, The Clock Shop owner Cliff, her old High School teacher Jim who owns the pottery shop as well at Phil Turnbull owner of the Lighting Store.

Phil is not liked by most especially when he is harrassing the other shop owners to sign a petition to stop a comic book store from opening in the mall.  After Bea says some harsh words and Phil is found murdered in the office of his shop, Talia starts her own little investigation as to who the real killer is.    

As Talia continues to work at the restaurant she also works at getting to know the other shop owners which lead her down some dark alleys and lots of secrets.  But will any of them lead her to the real killer and clear Bea's good name ?

Linda Reilly is amazing with her story telling talent !  I especially loved the ending and how everything came together....even some things you didn't see coming.  I highly recommend reading Fillet of Murder and watching for the next book in this series.

Review by Missi S.

Going Coastal (A Kate Matthews Mystery) by Jane DiLucchio


Going Coastal by Jane DiLucchio

A client dying on her massage table is traumatic enough for Kate Matthews, but when the police declare that death a murder, life becomes more painful for her as she is cast as the major suspect.

None of this is what Kate expected from her move to the peaceful town of Santa Barbara. After a near-fatal heart attack, an early retirement from her Los Angeles law firm, and a change in careers, Kate envisioned a quiet life with her wife, Alicia, and their grown children.

Since the client held a position on the California Coastal Commission, her death becomes a media event. Kate finds herself and her family sucked into the maelstrom. The former lawyer has all she can do to find the truth behind Celia's death without adding her own name to the body count.
  (summary via Goodreads)


I really enjoyed reading this book. I had a hard time putting it down during the holiday. The plot and characters flowed so well you were on another chapter before you realized it. That's ok, sleeping is overrated. LOL I loved how the author showed the relationship between Kate and Alicia as a loving married couple. Also how their families integrated and how they were able to deal with difficult situations. You will fall in love with these characters. Kate is a strong independent woman who has had to retire early from her law firm due to a mild heart attack. Now she is working as a part time masseuse. Then you have Alicia, Kate's wife who is a very busy real estate agent who is also a very strong women. Both of these incredible women have raised two great kids, Ben and Sarah. Ben actually helps his mom by making oils for each of her clients. Sarah is in law school planning to take her boards next year and is planning her wedding to David Silver who is also going to be a lawyer.
Since Kate had her heart attack Alicia has been trying to keep Kate's stress level low. You would think that being a masseuse would help but when Kate shows up to her Sunday clients house all hell breaks loose. Celia Tucker is on the Coastal Committee and described as a pain in the butt. When Kate goes to give her the massage Celia breaks out into hives and her airway closes. Kate immediately gives Celia her Epi shot but it doesn't help. Why didn't it work? The police detectives show up asking the same question and Kate ends up being the prime suspect. This also leads others members of the family down the rabbit hole putting even more stress on everyone. Kate begins pulling a few strings and with the help of her family and friends starts to investigate. She not only wants to clear her name, get her business, and find the real killer but she wants to be there for her wife and kids. She and Alicia have a wedding to help get under way while all of this is going on around them. Will they be able to pull all of this off before someone else gets hurt???
You will enjoy this mystery adventure, who done it. Not everyone is who they appear to be and money doesn't always keep secrets at bay!

Review by Penny M.

Thursday, 10 December 2015

Santa Sleuth (Zoe Donovan Mystery Book 18) by Kathi Daley


Santa Sleuth (Zoe Donovan Mystery Book 18)

It's Christmas in Ashton Falls and the entire Zimmerman household is gearing up for their first Christmas as a newly formed family unit. While Zak is busy decking the halls, Zoe is busy tracking down a killer while still taking the time to make certain a little girls Christmas wish comes true. It's funny, it's family, it's a Zak and Zoe Christmas.  (Summary via Goodreads)


Another 5 star book from Kathi Daley. If you have not picked up one of her books yet you should. If you are looking for a great mystery full of surprises, romance, and family this is the book for you. 
Everything starts out so so for Zoe. She has to dress up as Santa for the Santa booth at the annual Christmas festival because Levi is MIA. She eventually gets settled after the suit she is wearing is stuffed with pillows to make her look the part. She begins to have little ones hop on her lap and start asking for Christmas wishes. One wish she hears brings tears to her eyes. She is determined to make this and others wishes come true. 
Everything changes in an instant, one minute she is leaving the festival and the next she wakes up in the hospital as a possible suspect in a murder that she can't remember. What a way to start Zak and Zoe's first Christmas married. Yikes! Zoe is now on a mission to find the killer and spend Christmas with her family at home and not from a cell. 
Make sure you hold on tight for this wild adventure. There are tons of twists and turns, suspects, secrets, special deliveries, and of course mystery to be had in this latest Zak and Zoe adventure. I loved it and can't wait till the next.

( Review by Penny M.)

Thursday, 3 December 2015

Killer Transaction (Cindy York Mysteries Book 1) by Catherine Bruns



All struggling real estate agent Cindy York wants is the home listing that was promised to her. But her deceitful co-worker, Tiffany Roberts, has other ideas, and she always manages to get what she wants. Tired of being manipulated, Cindy tells her to back off—or else! But when Cindy stumbles upon Tiffany’s lifeless body, she suddenly finds herself front and center in a deadly investigation. Now everyone from her kids' classmates to her monstrous mother-in-law is sold on the idea that Cindy's guilty. Determined to find out who's trying to frame her, Cindy enlists the help of her best buddy, Jacques, to negotiate a slew of suspects, a host of clues, and an office full of cutthroat agents...before the next contract is out on her!  (summary via Amazon)

Cindy York is married to an amazing man, has 3 children, a great best friend, and a career.  Life should be good for Cindy.  Unfortunately it isn't.  She is having trouble selling houses because Tiffany, one of the other realtors in the agency keeps stealing her potential clients.  Her boss Donna will not do anything about it because she doesn't seem to like Cindy and she adores Tiffany   To make matters worse Cindy finds Tiffany's body after hours at the office.  Everyone hated Tiffany, especially Cindy but some how the investigation seems to be focused on Cindy even though she didn't do it. Cindy, with the help of her best friend, Jacques, try to figure out who hated Tiffany enough to want her dead and why they are framing Cindy.  As Cindy gets closer to finding out the truth, there is one piece of the puzzle that is missing.  Can she figure it out before its too late ?

Catherine Bruns is amazing.  Her writing is so intriguing and captivating, that I want more.  The way she lures you in and captures you is mind blowing. Not to mention the way everything comes together in the end will have you reading faster and faster and you will feel like you are right there.  I really want to tell you what happened in the end, who the killer was and why but I will leave it for you to enjoy and believe me..... You will thoroughly LOVE this book and author !!




Sunday, 29 November 2015

Author Spotlight and Book Giveaway with Edith Maxwell







I recently met up with author Edith Maxwell in Pittsfield, MA.  We had breakfast at a busy little breakfast and deli, Otto's, and chatted.
Edith is the author of 4 cozy mystery series:
Local Foods Mysteries which has 4 books in the series so far with the latest Farmed and Dangerous on the shelves.
The Quaker Midwife Mysteries series, her historical series, will debut in 2016 with the first book, Delivering the Truth.
The Lauren Rousseau Mysteries series, written under her pen name Tace Baker, has 2 books in the series.
And finally written under another pen name, Maddie Day, is her Country Store Mysteries.
Although she is busy writing and a member of certain groups such as Sisters in Crime which is what brought her to Pittsfield, she made time to sit down and answers some questions. I had my own questions I wanted answered but I started with some questions from her devoted fans.

Marilyn Watson asked "In the layout of the book, do you always try to have a character that is unlikeable as well as ones to like ?"
Edith's respond  "I set up a few suspects so that there is always someone to dislike."

Rosemary Pfeiffer asked "If you weren't a writer, what would you be ?"
Edith  "I had several careers before this one. I wrote software manuals, taught childbirth classes, and did farming, so I might be doing any one of those still."

Rosemary also asked "What is your favorite book that you wrote and why ?"
Edith  "Well, that's like asking who is your favorite child. That said, I'm really excited about Delivering the Truth, the first Quaker Midwife Mystery coming out in April."

Abby Fabian asked "When did you know that you wanted to be a writer ?"
Edith  "I wrote fiction as a child. I wrote a short story for the newspaper and won the contest and received a prize at age 11.  Then I wrote academically and as a free-lance journalist.  I have always read cozy mysteries so it just seemed natural to write them, which I started in 1994."

And she also asked "Are you one of those people that come up with the character and guide them, or do they just come into being in your head and guide you ?"
Edith  "I let them guide me and sometimes they even surprise me."

Jen Scott asked "Which actor/actress would you like to see playing the lead character from your most recent book ?"
Edith  "That would be Flipped for Murder and Robbie Jordan is the main character, but I don't know who should play her. I'll let the readers help: Can you find me an actress with brown eyes in her twenties? Someone who isn't too slim, who might have long dark curly hair? Thanks!

Jen also asked  "What advice would you give to your younger self ?"
Edith  "I would tell myself to keep writing fiction, don't take a 30 year break."

Pearl R. Meaker wants to know "Are you an intuitive plotter or an outlining planner ?"
Edith  "I prefer to write into the headlights.  However, I have to write a synopsis for me editor, so I do, but that can change. I am kind of a hybrid author now."

Sue Farrell wanted to know "Will there be any new Lauren Rousseau mysteries any time soon ?"
Edith  "Lauren is taking a break.  We may or may not see her again, its in the air at this time."

And lastly Angela Chestnut asked " Why do you write mysteries ?"
Edith  "It is what I like to read, and  I like creating a puzzle and putting it together, making it all work."


                                              


And to get to know Edith Maxwell a little more I asked her some of my own questions.

How long does it take to write a book ?
Writing is my full-time job now. I'm not retired but I travel a lot. A first draft can take me about 2 months to write, and then I devote another month or to for revision and polishing

Why do you write under 3 different names ?  How to do you balance them ?

The publisher requires the pen names. But I link the names and books when I'm promoting and on my website. I focus on one series book at a time.

Do you have a writing schedule ?
As stated earlier, writing is my full time job.  I am up and writing by 7:00 am, write until 11:00 or so then I go for a "plotting walk".  Afternoons I do business work, computer work, promotional work.  Evenings and Sunday are off times.

What do you like to do when not writing ?
I like to cook, garden, do crosswords, watch movies and read.

Do you read ?  If so, what kinds or books do you read ? Favorite author ?
Yes, I like to read cozies.
There are so many great New England crime writers. Lucy Burdette, Kate Flora, Hank Phillippi Ryan, Hallie Ephron, and Julia Spencer-Fleming, as well as all the Wicked Cozy Authors (wickedcozyauthors.com), with whom I blog every weekday.  "If I could write like Julia, I'd die happy."

What book are you reading now ?
I just finished Sheila Connolly's "A Gala Event" and am in the middle of Lori Rader-Day's "Little Pretty Things."  Sadie Hartwell's "Yarned and Dangerous" is next.

What "technology" do you use for writing ?
I use Scrivener, its a writing tool for writers and its fabulous.

What inspires you ?
Everything inspires me, my imagination, stories I read or hear. I'm also so inspired by readers who tell me they love my books. It makes me want to write more!

Does your family read your books ?
Both of my sons read my books, and my sisters do, too

When and why did you begin writing ?
My now-ex-husband suggested it when my younger son went to kindergarten and I had my mornings free. I started writing what ended up as "A Tine to Live, a Tine to Die" (Local Foods Mystery #1) at that time

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider your mentor ?
Hallie Ephron. She's always been generous with advice and help.

Out of the three author names you write under do you have a favorite ?  If so, why ?
Edith Maxwell.  It's my actual name and the others are pseudonyms.

What question do you wish someone would ask you about your books that nobody has ?
Nobody ever asks how I get writing through the middle of a book.  Sometimes it is hard to get my arms around it. I have to put the beginning and the ending together and be fair to the reader.



                                             


 I was very excited to sit down with Edith especially after having read Flipped For Murder.  If you are anything like me, which if you are following this Blog, you probably are, you truly get into the book.  As you read the book, you feel like you are a part of the town, you can see everything, hear everything and even smell what the author is writing.  And when you finish the book and put it on the shelf or in a box, the story and the people stay with you for a while, like you don't want to leave the town or forget it all.

I highly recommend reading any of Edith Maxwell's book.  She has an amazing talent, is a super awesome person, and she made my first official interview go so smoothly.  This is not to say that I wasn't nervous waiting for her at the restaurant.  To me authors are MY celebrities....to read a book and then to be able to talk to the person who wrote it is an awesome feeling.

This was just the beginning for me and for you as well...... I am working on my next interview, Author Spotlight and Giveaway..... Susannah Hardy !!  And I even have the autographed book, Olive and Let Die, A Greek To Me Mystery, for the giveaway.  To be eligible to WIN the book, you have to submit a question that you would like me to ask Susannah when we chat.  Ask a question and your name goes into the drawing......it's that easy !!!!

Speaking of drawings, contests, autographed books anfd winning......
The winner of Flipped for Murder by Maddie Day (a.k.a. Edith Maxwell) is ABBY FABIAN !!!  Congrats Abby !!!!

I hope you enjoyed this interview as much as I did !

























Monday, 23 November 2015

Olive and Let Die (A Greek to Me Mystery Book 2) by Susannah Hardy



The second Greek to Me Mystery from the author of Feta Attraction

As manager of the Bonaparte House, a historic landmark and Greek restaurant in upstate New York, Georgie Nikolopatos knows her local legends—and her traditional Greek recipes are to die for.

Between her soon-to-be ex-husband Spiro coming out of the closet and her budding romance with Captain Jack Conway, Georgie’s life is beginning to feel like a soap opera.  And that’s before a surprise visit from her estranged mother Shirley, better known as soap star Melanie Ashley. But the dramatic family reunion takes a chilling turn when another long-lost relative turns up dead.

Just outside Spiro’s new restaurant, Georgie and Melanie find the body of Doreen Webber—a cousin Georgie never knew she had. With Spiro’s partner Inky on the list of suspects, Georgie begins to wonder what else her mother may be hiding. Is the dead-broke diva capable of murder?  She’d better find out before someone adds a new twist to the family plot.

Includes delicious Greek recipes! (summary via Amazon)


Susannah Hardy is the Debbie MacComber of cozy mysteries but also with a murder or two.  Hardy writes about a small, close knit tourist town with lovable characters, restaurants you want to dine in, shops to shop in and a Spa on an island in a castle.  Susannah Hardy had me with Feta Attraction, the first book in her Greek To Me Mystery series but Olive And Let Die blew me away ! ! !  Hardy has such a talent in her writing that you are swept into the book from page one.

In Olive and Let Die you get to know Georgie and her "family" better, some of which she didn't even know existed and one that has always been there right under her nose.  When her soap opera star mother returns to town after a very lenghty absence, the town turns into a real life soap opera.  As Georgia tries to find out the reason for her mothers sudden, secretive return, they stumble across a dead body.  As she tries to balance her restaurant responsibilites, spend time getting to know her new beau, Mr. Hottie Captain Jack Conway, help her soon to be gay ex-husband and his partner find a cook for the restaurant they are opening up, and try to uncover the truth behind her mothers visit, she tries to figure out the murder of her distant cousin, Doreen.

Georgie didn't even know long time resident of Bonaparte Bay Doreen Webber was a relative until after discovering her body with the mother who abandoned her many, many years ago.  Why is her famous mother in town ?  And why can't she get her mother or her annoying assistant, Caitlyn to talk about it.  Georgie knows there is something going on, especially when a friend warns her to be careful but then ends up dead before they can explain.  Is Georgie a target ?  Is her mother in danger ?  As she gets closer to finding out the truth, she unravels some long ago hidden secrets concerning a family she didn't know anything about.....her family.

If you enjoy a book that keeps you entertained throughout the entire story, a book with plenty of surprises, some twists, and a shocking ending that almost guarantees there is more to come in other book, then you need to read this book.  You will be a fan for life !!!

Review by Missi S.


Tuesday, 17 November 2015

A Dickens of a Murder (Canterville Book Shop Mystery 1) by Joyce & Jim Lavene, Jeni Chappelle


A Dickens of a Murder (Canterville Book Shop Mystery 1)

Christmas at Canterville! 
Lisa Wellman and Simon Canterville are surprised to find a dead man on their roof in the midst of rushing to open the Canterville Book Shop in time for the holidays. And not just any dead man – Ebenezer Hart – the man who opposed the book shop opening in Olde Town, Portsmouth, Virginia. 
What might be more surprising is when Daniel Fairhaven – Lisa’s ex – turns up at the door of the three-story Victorian house to head the police investigation. She hasn’t seen him in years but the sparks start to fly as soon as they are in the same room together. 
Simon and Lisa are obviously the best suspects for the murder. Each of them had something to gain by Hart’s death. Then an attempt on Simon’s life throws that theory into a tailspin. 
But the biggest surprise yet comes when the ghost of Charles Dickens turns up to help Lisa with the murder investigation – and writing the mystery novel she has been working on for years. 
Without a doubt, Daniel and Dickens in Lisa’s life means trouble. And there’s still the matter of trying to get the book shop open with a killer on their heels.  (summary via Goodreads)



This is the first in a new series,The Canterville Book Shop Series by Joyce and Jim Lavene. This is a wonderful start to a new series that I know will be extraordinary. I couldn't put it down once I started reading. This book is magical in every way. Not only do you have a murder mystery to solve but you have ghosts, adventure, and a little romance all rolled into one great read.
This book takes place in Olde Town, Portsmouth, Virginia where business partners Simon Canterville and Lisa Wellman are trying to get their book shop opened before Thanksgiving. With all of the rush to get everything organized they don't realize a dead body in on the roof of the three story Victorian home they are converting to their dream business. Of course the man on their roof is none other than Ebenezer Hart, the very man that Simon has been fighting in court to get zoning for their book shop. This puts a major kink in the plans to open since Simon is taken to the police station as the prime suspect. It just so happens that the Sheriff in charge is Deputy Chief Daniel Fairhaven, Lisa's ex-husband that she hasn't seen for twelve years. WOW!!! Now, Miss Wellman not only has to get Simon out of police custody, get the shop ready for a maybe opening, and solve a murder but now she has her ex to deal with. What is Lisa to do? She is a Librarian that has always loved books. She is also starting her dream of writing and had done a lot of research on everything from poisons to weapons. Will this be enough to help Simon? Will it be enough to prevent something else bad from happening to The Canterville Book Shop? Oh and btw did I mention the house is haunted by the greatest writer of our time, Charles Dickens. He is here for Lisa's help. He wants her to help him finish his last work that he couldn't do in life because of a stroke. Gee whiz right? What else will Lisa have on her plate? And will she be able to help everyone or will she be the next victim?
I loved all the characters in this new series. Especially Puck, Maggie May, Truffles, and Wordsworth. I look forward too many more adventures with Simon and Lisa at The Canterville Book Shop. This book meant a lot to me knowing that it was dedicated to Joyce. Everyone in the Cozy book world has suffered a great loss. She was an amazing writer and made everyone she touched either in person or Facebook feel like they were her best friend. I am glad to have known her through Facebook and I am glad that her words will never die. They will be read by thousands now and in the future. God Bless.

Review by Penny M.

Monday, 16 November 2015

Chance to WIN an autographed book by author EDITH MAXWELL

Sunday November 22nd.... I will be traveling to Pittsfield MA to have lunch with Edith M. Maxwell and possibly another Cozy Mystery Author. I will be interviewing her / them over lunch.

I'm thinking next Monday there will be a book giveaway, autographed book at that ! ! ! 
I think this is going to be a fun and interesting lunch seeing as I will be talking to Edith as well as channeling Trace Baker & Maddie Day. ( If you're a fan of Edith's you know what Im talking about )  If you don't already know.  She writes under 3 different names..... Besides Edith Maxwell books, there are Tace Baker and her latest Maddie Day.  

I know some questions I want to ask her..... Do you have a question you would like me to ask her ? Let me know, comment on this post or email me your question and I will include it in the interview. ( You will even get credit for the question when I write up the interview )
You never know maybe your question will be so unique that it could win you a FREE book !  

To learn more about Edith and her books, check out her page : 
http://edithmaxwell.com

And send me a question to ask Edith for a chance to WIN an autographed book ! ! !







Friday, 13 November 2015

Margaritas, Marzipan, and Murder (A Cape Bay Cafe Mystery Book 3) by Harper Lin



Summer tourist season is winding down, but the Cape Bay police find a dead body in the alley beside Mary Ellen’s Souvenirs and Gifts. Police rule it a suicide, but Francesca Amaro knows it’s murder. Who would buy a bag of souvenirs, including a box of delicious marzipan, only to commit suicide moments later? 
Even though the police tell her to stay out of the case, Fran is too curious not to investigate, even though she’s running a busy and popular cafĂ©. 
Includes special marzipan and margarita recipes! This is Book 3 in The Cape Bay Cafe Mysteries. The books don’t have to be read in order.  (summary via Amazon)


I love this series. It just keeps getting better and better. You won't be able to put it down. The sleepy little town of Cape Bay grows on you from the first chapter. The characters make you feel like they could be your neighbors.
Dawn and Fran take Sammy out for a girls night to help her get over her break up with long time boyfriend, Jared. Little did they know they would end the night looking at a dead body in an alley next to Mary Ellen's shop down the boardwalk. The best way I can describe Fran is a new age Nancy Drew. She finds a clue and runs with it much to the dismay of detective Mike Stanton. She begins to investigate because she has a feeling that it may not be as easy as just a suicide. With the help of her boyfriend Matt they find out the name of the person in the alley. What would a seemingly innocent family man/Pharmacist be doing in Cape Bay without his family? Who would want to kill him and why? This latest adventure finds that not everything is as it seems in Cape Bay and you should be afraid of the shadows. This is a must read clean mystery that will have you wondering and shocked at the end.
 

Review by Penny M.






The Folly Under the Lake by Salema Nazzal



Set in the early 1930s at a country house in Surrey. Witton Park is owned by crooked, multi-millionaire, oil speculator Walter Sinnet and he lives there with his wife Blanche and their two adult children Harry and Rose.
Harry is a good-natured bookworm who spends most of his time in the library, and has nothing in common with his father who wants him to work in the family company. His sister Rose, fun but feisty, wants some excitement in her life.
Walter has become a multi-millionaire by swindling the investors in his company and has a vast lake and underwater folly engineered and put onto his property. People can sit in the folly and look through the windows into the lake and watch the fish swim past.
The Sinnet family have a weekend house party and amongst them are Joseph Brewer and his wife Florence who are a couple in need of money who are desperate to invest in Walter’s business.
Another guest is Hattie Abberton, who has been invited by Blanche and has a big secret to hide.
Other guests include grieving widow Cordelia Brown, who is Blanche Sinnet’s niece, jewellery expert George Brown and Blanche’s childhood friend Aubrey Sapping, who is in love with her.
That night a storm happens that is so severe that a large tree falls down over the entrance gates making it impossible for anyone to leave the estate.
The next morning Florence Brewer’s jewellery has disappeared and a dead body is found floating in the lake facing down through the folly’s glass roof.
Inspector Marcus Thomas and his son James, who has a day off school because of the storm, soon arrive at the property. Along with bumbling sidekick Constable Turner, the three set out to solve the mystery.  (summary via Goodreads)


I loved this book! Think Agatha Christie meets Sherlock Holmes and you're got it. Loved the Olde English charm from the setting of the book to the characters. The author grabs you from the first page.
The author takes you to a country home in Surrey, where Witton Park is located. It is a elegant home owned by Walter Sinnet, a not so nice man who has made his fortune by conning everyone around him. He has built this estate to be extremely lavish with man made lakes and an underwater folly smoking room. The Sinnet's are having a party with some interesting guests, one of which will be his demise. Everyone is a suspect when Walter is found floating above his own folly dead. Who would want him dead? The better question should be who wouldn't want him dead. All the guests have a reason to want him dead, even his wife. Yikes! In comes Inspector Marcus Thomas and the bumbling Constable Turner. They are there to try and figure out what is going on at the estate. Inspector Thomas's son James even tries to get in on the action since he is off school. Will they be able to flush out the killer before he or she leaves Witton Park scott free??? 
This book gives you a great mystery and who dunit as well as a fun adventure full of twists and turns. I didn't know who the killer was till the very end! I was shocked. This is a must read.

Review by Penny M.